Cruise Hive Boards

Travel Insurance

The 1st time we purchased travel insurance was for our 3 week Fiji/Australia/New Zealand trip/cruise in 2018. We had more than $10k in that trip with lots of moving parts. Up until this point we had done 20+ cruise and a couple of overseas trips without ever purchasing travel insurance and never had any hiccups. Luckily on this downunder trip, we did not have a claim on the insurance policy.  We did purchase travel insurance for our upcoming cruise, but that was only in the event the face diaper came back - I refuse to vacation with someone muzzling me!

Otherwise - no we don’t regularly purchase travel insurance. I’m a farmer so I’m a natural gambler...

• Haha 2

@FJB That's a grande investment for a cruise. I see the value in insuring such an expense! Once again you have me chuckling at the face diaper commentary. It's also a great idea to protect your vacation if you are fearful of an unexpected itinerary change, such as the face mask mandate. 

I don't find traveling without the recommended insurance to be a gamble. I think, if anything were to randomly occur, the cruise lines are usually pretty flexible and accommodating to meet guest needs. 

• 3 weeks later...
10 hours ago, Cruising Caribbean said:

@FJB I think "face diapers" are mostly gone for the time being. I also found masking a challenge, but my days of having to bring along a mask while cruising are practically over now. It's definitely a gamble, but the extra cost of the travel insurance could be quite a few drinks at the bar!

Hoping they never return! 

• Like 1